Welcome to ASPB’s Midwestern Sectional Society!

The Midwestern section began as local society meetings at Purdue and the University of Minnesota (1926) and Illinois (1948). In 1955, at an invitational meeting in Urbana, the groups formally joined forces and became the Midwestern section and the local university sections disbanded. Today the Midwestern section boasts the largest membership of any of the sections and continues to hold annual meetings to discuss current research within the section.

States Included: U.S. – Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin;  Canada – Manitoba, Ontario

Join Section


Duties of officers

Current Newsletter – Summer 2021


ASPB Midwest 2023 Conference,
April 22-23, 2023,
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center, Ames, IA


Registration and Abstract Submission Open Date: January 30, 2023


Midwest ASPB executive committee (2022/23)


Chair – Sen Subramanian, South Dakota State University, South Dakota

Vice-Chair/Chair elect – Michael Mickelbart, Purdue University, Indiana

Secretary/Treasurer – Jonathan Fresnedo Ramirez, Ohio State University, Ohio

Early Career Representative – Bruna Montes Luz, University of Missouri-Columbia, Missouri

Publications Manager – Jennifer Robison, Manchester University, Indiana

Representative to the ASPB Council – Kathrin Schrick, Kansas State University

2023 Meeting Organizer – Dior Kelley (Iowa State University), ( @KelleyDior)